February 2010

Looking Ahead…


As I mentioned in a blast e-mail to the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Lipid Research Division members, we’ve come a long way since our inauguration in April of last year.  I would like to thank everyone involved in making this a real ASBMB division, especially ASBMB President Gregory A. Petsko, who was extremely supportive and helpful.  There are many scientists who have been instrumental in making the division work, but none of it would have been remotely possible without help and insight from Barbara Gordon, executive director of ASBMB.  Barbara, Hector Martinez (director of information technology), Nicole Kresge (ASBMB Today editor) and Steve Miller (director of finance) all have been truly invaluable at getting this division started.  Amazingly, Barbara continues to keep us on the right path, which is no easy task indeed! 

As we move into 2010, I’d like to summarize what we’ve accomplished in the past year:
• Thanks to the efforts of Membership Director Brian (Binks) Wattenberg, we now have slightly more than 400 members and still are growing. 

• The division now is involved with the ASBMB Annual Meeting and will be participating in the lipid theme in Anaheim, Calif., in April.

• A steering committee was formed and consists of the following:

Director Daniel M. Raben, the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Yusuf A. Hannun, Medical University of South Carolina
Lina M. Obeid, Medical University of South Carolina
Brian (Binks) Wattenberg, University of Louisville School of Medicine
Timothy Hla, Weill Cornell Medical College
John York, Duke University Medical Center
Vytas Bankaitis, University of North Carolina School of Medicine

• Robert V. Stahelin, the division’s financial director, obtained funding from Avanti to launch our Young Investigator Award.  The first recipient, Sarah Keller of the University of Washington, will receive her award at the 2010 Annual Meeting. 

• We have formed an advocacy committee chaired by Yusuf Hannun.  The committee soon will begin its work to address funding issues in our community. 


First Name:
Last Name:

Comment on this item:
Our comments are moderated. Maximum 1000 characters. We would appreciate it if you signed your name to your comment.


There aren't any comments on this item yet. Tell us what you think!


Page 1 of 1

found= true500