December 2011

Member update

Hruska takes top post at bone research society 

member_update_hruskaKeith Hruska, who has spent his entire scientific career as a faculty member at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, was named president of the American Society for Bone and Mineral Research. In a statement, Hruska emphasized that his appointment comes at a time when tens of millions of Americans, many of them seniors, are affected by bone diseases, and he underscored his optimism about future solutions that research will yield. Hruska’s research focuses on the skeletal contribution to cardiovascular morbidity associated with kidney disease. He serves on the editorial board of the Journal of Biological Chemistry.

Obama nominates Bassler to National Science Board 

member_update_basslerPresident Obama nominated Bonnie Bassler of Princeton University to the 24-member National Science Board, which oversees the National Science Foundation. Bassler, a Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator and the winner of the 2009 Wiley Prize in biomedical sciences, is known for her work with quorum sensing, through which bacteria communicate. Bassler was elected to the National Academy of Sciences in 2006.

ACS honors Chang, Fierke, Bertozzi and Gronenborn 

member_update_changmember_update_gronenbornmember_update_fierkemember_update_bertozziThe American Chemical Society’s biological chemistry division has named four ASBMB members the winners of its annual awards. Christopher J. Chang of the University of California, Berkeley, won the Eli Lilly Award in Biological Chemistry in recognition of his contributions to discovery and understanding of new chemical signaling agents in biological systems. Carol Fierke of the University of Michigan won the Repligen Award in the Chemistry of Biological Processes in recognition of her research of how protein and nucleic acid catalysts achieve high efficiency with rigorous control of reaction specificity. Carolyn Bertozzi of the University of California, Berkeley, who was recognized for her work on bridging the gap between molecular chemistry and biological function, will give the ACS Chemical Biology lecture at the society’s spring meeting.  Angela Gronenborn of the University of Pittsburgh, who was recognized for her development of nuclear magnetic resonance methodologies for determining biomolecular structures, will give the Gordon Hammes biochemistry lecture at the society’s annual meeting next fall.

Scott claims ASPET’s early career award 

member_update_scottEmily Scott of the University of Kansas was named the winner of the American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics’s Early Career Achievement Award. Scott, who studies the structure and function of cytochrome P450 enzymes, is supported by the National Center for Research Resources and the National Institute for General Medical Sciences.

Four members elected
to Institute of Medicine
of the National Academies

Carolyn R. Bertozzi,
University of California, Berkeley

George Georgiou,
University of Texas at Austin

Jonathan D. Gitlin,
Vanderbilt University School of Medicine

Richard L. Huganir,
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine

found= true1587