July 2011

ASBMB announces its 2011 election results

We thank the following outgoing council and committee members for their service to the society: 

Dafna Bar-Sagi, Council member
Traci M. T. Hall, Meetings Committee member
Tony Hunter, Nominating Committee member
Thomas D. Landefeld, Minority Affairs Committee member
Carla Mattos, Education and Professional Development Committee member
Ishara A. Mills-Henry, Minority Affairs Committee member
Matthew W. Olson, Meetings Committee member
Gregory Petsko, Past-president
Mark M. Rasenick, Public Affairs Advisory Committee Member
Dagmar Ringe, Nominating Committee member
John D. Scott, Membership Committee member
Ali Shilatifard, Meetings Committee member
Thomas E. Smith, Council member
Ann Stock, Council member
James T. Stull, Finance Committee member
Michael Summers, Minority Affairs Committee member

Nominating Committee member

Ian Wilson is the Hansen professor of structural biology at The Scripps Research Institute. He studies the structural basis of immune recognition. One of his major goals is to understand the interaction of foreign antigens with the immune system.

Public Affairs Advisory Committee member

John M. Kyriakis is an investigator and professor of medicine at the Molecular Cardiology Research Institute at Tufts Medical Center, and director of the MCRI Laboratory of Stress Signal Transduction and Gene Regulation. He studies signal transduction in inflammation and cancer.

Public Affairs Advisory Committee member

Leslie Parise is chair of the department of biochemistry and biophysics at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Medicine and has a joint appointment with the department of pharmacology. The goal of her research is to gain a better understanding of how cell signals and adhesion receptors merge to control events in cardiovascular disease and cancer.

Public Affairs Advisory Committee member

Robert Palazzo is provost and a professor of biology at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute. His research interests include cell biology and biochemistry of centrosomes, mitosis and early development, cell-cycle regulation, fertilization and reproduction, regulation of cell motility, cell structure and function, cell evolution, protein biochemistry, and drug discovery.

Publications Committee member

Judith Storch is a professor in the department of nutritional sciences at Rutgers University’s School of Environmental and Biological Sciences. Her research is focused on lipid traffic in cells with particular emphasis on the structural determinants, metabolism and function of long-chain fatty acids, monoacylglycerols and cholesterol. Her laboratory uses a combination of biochemical, biophysical, cell and molecular biological approaches to investigate these areas.

Publications Committee member

Jeffrey L. Benovic is a professor and the chair of the department of biochemistry and molecular biology at Thomas Jefferson University, as well as leader of the Cancer Cell Biology and Signaling Program at the Kimmel Cancer Center. He studies the regulation of G-protein signaling.


First Name:
Last Name:

Comment on this item:
Our comments are moderated. Maximum 1000 characters. We would appreciate it if you signed your name to your comment.


There aren't any comments on this item yet. Tell us what you think!


Page 1 of 1

found= true1425