July 2011

Member Update

ASBMB members in the news this month include Juan S. Bonifacino, Titia de Lange, Yibin Kang, Phoebe Leboy, Yosef Shiloh, Stephen T. Warren, Meir Wilchek, Michelle Williams, Helen M. Blau, Philip C. Hanawalt and Carol L. Prives. 


Bonifacino elected PABMB vice chairman

Juan S. Bonifacino recently was elected vice chairman of the Panamerican Association for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. PABMB aims to foster and support the growth and advancement of biochemistry and molecular biology within the Americas. The association disseminates information relating to biochemistry and molecular biology education, sponsors meetings and courses, and facilitates the exchange of faculty and students between institutions engaged in research and training.

Bonifacino received his doctorate in biochemistry from the University of Buenos Aires and moved to the National Institutes of Health to do a postdoctoral fellowship. He later became chief of the Cell Biology and Metabolism Branch.

Bonifacino’s research looks at the molecular mechanisms that determine protein localization and fate in the secretory and endocytic pathways and diseases that result from dysfunction of these mechanisms. In particular, he has conducted research on signals and adaptor proteins that mediate protein sorting in the endosomal-lysosomal system.


De Lange and Kang receive Vilcek Prizes in Biomedical Science 

Titia de Lange Yibin Kang

The Vilcek Foundation recently announced the 2011 winners of its annual prizes honoring the contributions of foreign-born scientists and artists.

The sixth annual Vilcek Prize for Biomedical Science, given in recognition of a sustained record of innovation and achievement, was awarded to Dutch-born Titia de Lange, the Leon Hess professor and head of the laboratory of cell biology and genetics at Rockefeller University. De Lange received the award for her research on mechanisms that help maintain genome stability. Her work has led to a greater understanding of how telomeres protect chromosome ends and what happens when telomere function is lost during the early stages of tumorigenesis.

The Vilcek Foundation also presented Yibin Kang with its 2011 Vilcek Prize for Creative Promise in Biomedical Science. The prize recognizes foreign-born scientists and artists not more than 38 years old who have made outstanding contributions in the early stages of their professional careers. Currently an associate professor of molecular biology at Princeton University, Kang’s research contributes to the general understanding of the molecular basis of cancer metastasis. His work focuses on the identification of genes and pathways that control metastasis and their role in the propensity of cancer cells to metastasize to different organs.


NEXT PAGE 1 | 2 | 3 | 4

First Name:
Last Name:

Comment on this item:
Our comments are moderated. Maximum 1000 characters. We would appreciate it if you signed your name to your comment.


There aren't any comments on this item yet. Tell us what you think!


Page 1 of 1

found= true1425