June 2011

The 2011 Undergraduate Poster Competition

The society celebrated the 15th anniversary of the Undergraduate Student Research Poster Competition on April 9th during the 2011 ASBMB annual meeting in Washington, D.C.  

Around 200 undergraduate students, along with their faculty advisors, participated in this year's  Undergraduate Student Research Poster Competition. One hundred volunteer judges generously donated their time to judging each poster. Eleven graduate school exhibitors were on-site to talk to students about graduate programs in the biological sciences.

The following are the winners and honorable mentions by topic category. Congratulations to everyone who participated this year. Next year's poster competition  will be held on April 21, 2012 in San Diego.

Cell Signaling

Kristina Anderson, Minnesota State University Moorhead, Cell Signaling Best Poster Award
James Cebulski, Providence College, Cell Signaling Honorable Mention
Matthew King, University of Delaware, Cell Signaling Honorable Mention
Chelsea McCallister, California State University, Fullerton, Cell Signaling Honorable Mention
Robert D. Wardlow, II, University of Maryland, Baltimore County, Cell Signaling Honorable Mention

Nucleic Acids

Joseph Piechura, University of Wisconsin-Madison, Nucleic Acids Best Poster Award
Jasmina Bogdanovic, Marymount Manhattan College, Nucleic Acids Honorable Mention
Amy Deng, Winthrop University, Nucleic Acids Honorable Mention
Allison O'Connell, Colorado College, Nucleic Acids Honorable Mention
Andrea Rivera, University of Puerto Rico, Rio Piedras Campus, Nucleic Acids Honorable Mention

Protein & Enzymes

Michael Brister, University of Delaware, Protein & Enzymes Best Poster Award
Anna Baker, Northeastern Illinois University, Protein & Enzymes Honorable Mention
Haley Brown, The College of Wooster, Protein & Enzymes Honorable Mention
Breanna Kalmeta, Rochester Institute of Technology, Protein & Enzymes Honorable Mention
Kevin Stebbings, Duquesne University, Protein & Enzymes Honorable Mention

Systems Biology

April Lao, Mary Baldwin College, Systems Biology Best Poster Award
Jeffrey Blair, Case Western Reserve University, Systems Biology Honorable Mention
Jae Yong Eom, Cornell University, Systems Biology Honorable Mention
Raymond Romano, Marymount Manhattan College, Systems Biology Honorable Mention
Jessica Sine, University of Mary Washington, Systems Biology Honorable Mention


found= true1376