November 2010

ASBMB Member Spotlight

ElginElgin Wins Teaching Award

Sarah C. R. Elgin, the Viktor Hamburger professor in arts and sciences at Washington University in St. Louis, won the 2010 Janet Andersen Lecture Award from the Midstates Consortium for Math and Science for her mentoring of undergraduates. The annual award is named for Janet Andersen, a faculty member in the Hope College mathematics department who served as the Midstates Consortium director for five years before she died in an automobile accident in 2005.

Elgin has been an active proponent of science education at the K-12 level. In the early 1990s, she initiated a science education partnership between Washington University and the public schools in her St. Louis community to implement a novel “hands-on” science curriculum for grades K-8 and to bring hands-on DNA science to the high school genetics curriculum. Elgin also was awarded a Howard Hughes Medical Institute Professorship in 2002, which she used to develop a course that couples the expertise of Washington University’s world-renowned Genome Center with the enthusiasm and interest of undergraduates for the field of genomics.

Photograph courtesy of Washington University in St. Louis.


EngelmanLippincott-SchwartzEngelman and Lippincott-Schwartz Named Biophysical Society Fellows

Donald M. Engelman, Eugene Higgins professor of molecular biophysics and biochemistry at Yale University, and Jennifer Lippincott-Schwartz, of the Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development at the National Institutes of Health, recently were named fellows of the Biophysical Society. Society fellows are chosen based on their demonstrated excellence in science, contributions to the expansion of the field of biophysics and support of the Biophysical Society. The 2011 fellows will be honored at an awards ceremony during the Biophysical Society’s 55th annual meeting this spring.

According to the Biophysical Society, Engelman was selected “for his substantial and highly influential contributions to the field of membrane structure and the interactions of lipid bilayers with proteins,” whereas Lippincott-Schwartz was honored “for her ground-breaking advances in optical highlighter fluorescent protein technology and impact on the field of super-resolution microscopy.”

The Biophysical Society, founded in 1956, is a professional scientific society established to encourage development and dissemination of knowledge in biophysics.


NEXT PAGE 1 | 2 | 3 | 4

First Name:
Last Name:

Comment on this item:
Our comments are moderated. Maximum 1000 characters. We would appreciate it if you signed your name to your comment.





Page 1 of 1

found= true1038