2020 award winners

Published November 01 2019

ASBMB annual meeting logo Among the unquestionable highlights of every American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology annual meeting are lectures by the society’s award winners. These awards are given to outstanding professionals who have been recognized by their peers for contributions to their fields, education and diversity.

On the following pages, we introduce the dozen distinguished scientists who will be honored at the 2020 annual meeting, April 4 – 7 in San Diego. Our contributing and staff writers talked to them about their professional journeys and the research they plan to discuss in their lectures.

As you read these profiles, think about the outstanding scientists you know. We hope you’ll be inspired to nominate one of them (or yourself) for an award. Nominations for the 2021 awards will be accepted March 2 – May 11, 2020. Nominating instructions will be posted on our meetings website.

Ruth Kirschstein Diversity in Science Award: Lizabeth Allison

Herbert Tabor Research Award: Kevin Campbell

ASBMB–Merck Award: Manajit Hayer–Hartl

Avanti Award in Lipids: Jean Schaffer

William C. Rose Award: Celia Schiffer

DeLano Award for Computational Biosciences: Yang Zhang

Walter Shaw Young Investigator Award in Lipids: Jeremy Baskin

ASBMB Award for Exemplary Contributions to Education: Paul Black

Bert and Natalie Vallee Award: Edward Dennis

Alice and C. C. Wang Award in Molecular Parasitology: Patricia Johnson

Earl and Thressa Stadtman Young Scholar Award: David Pagliarini

Mildred Cohn Award in Biological Chemistry: Carol Fierke