Member Update

Published October 01 2017

Baldwin elected FASEB president

Tom Baldwin, professor emeritus of biochemistry at the University of California, Riverside, has been elected president of the Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology.

Baldwin has held a number of leadership roles at FASEB, serving on the science research conference committee, the finance committee, the public affairs committee and the science policy committee. He also represented the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology on the FASEB board.

Baldwin’s research has focused on the flavoprotein monooxygenase bacterial luciferase. Before joining UCR in 2008, Baldwin held academic positions at Texas A&M University, the University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign and the University of Arizona.

He began his yearlong term as president in July.

Thomas Baldwin

Biophysical Society honors Partch, Cho

Carrie Partch, associate professor of chemistry and biochemistry at the University of California, Santa Cruz, and Wonhwa Cho, distinguished professor of chemical biology at the University of Illinois, Chicago, have been honored as 2018 Biophysical Society award recipients.

Partch received the Margaret Oakley Dayhoff Award, which recognizes a woman who has demonstrated outstanding early-career achievement in biophysical research. She was recognized “for her groundbreaking combination of biophysics and cell biology that is defining how protein conformational changes control circadian clock timing,” according to a society news release.

Cho is the recipient of the Avanti Award in Lipids, which recognizes significant research by an investigator in the field of lipid biophysics.

Cho uses innovative chemical biology and imaging tools to explore how membrane lipids and proteins control and mediate the complex molecular interactions necessary for cellular function and regulation.

Partch and Cho will be honored at the Biophysical Society’s annual meeting in February.

Carrie Partch
Wonhwa Cho


ACS 2018 award winners

George Bodner Alison Butler Lila Gierasch

George M. Bodner, Alison Butler and Lila Gierasch are among those honored as American Chemical Society 2018 national award winners.

Bodner, the Arthur Kelly distinguished professor at Purdue University, received the ACS Award for Achievement in Research for the Teaching and Learning of Chemistry.

Butler, a distinguished professor in the department of chemistry and biochemistry at the University of California, Santa Barbara, received the Alfred Bader Award in bioinorganic chemistry.

Gierasch, a distinguished professor at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst, and editor-in-chief of the Journal of Biological Chemistry, has won the Ralph F. Hirschmann Award in peptide chemistry.

The 2018 ACS award winners will be honored in March at the ACS National Meeting.

Sumter named interim dean at Winthrop

Takita Felder Sumter, a professor of biochemistry at Winthrop University, has been named the interim dean of the College of Arts and Sciences.

Sumter will lead Winthrop’s largest academic college, with 14 departments, five centers and more than 300 full- and part-time faculty. She serves as the interim chair of the Department of Human Nutrition and this year was named the first provost’s faculty fellow.

Sumter also chairs the ASBMB’s minority affairs committee and co-leads the society’s Interactive Mentoring Activities for Grantsmanship Enhancement program to benefit early-career scientists.

She began her one-year term as interim dean in August.

Takita Sumter

In memoriam: Bill Moyle

William R. Moyle, professor of obstetrics, gynecology and reproductive sciences at Rutgers University, passed away July 13 at the Robert Wood Johnson University Medical Center. He was 73.

Moyle was born in Dayton, Ohio, and grew up in Rochester, N.Y. After graduating from Cornell University, he earned his doctorate in anatomy from Harvard University. He remained at Harvard after receiving his Ph.D., as a research scientist.

Moyle joined the faculty at Rutgers’ Robert Wood Johnson Medical School as an assistant professor in 1978. He directed the department of obstetrics, gynecology and reproductive sciences’ laboratory in Piscataway, New Jersey, where his research focused on hormone action and evolution.

Moyle is survived by his wife, Tamara Delice–Moyle, and his sisters, Diane, Karin and Lauren.

In memoriam: Maria Tomasz

Maria Tomasz, professor emeritus at Hunter College, passed away at her home in Whitingham, Vt., Nov. 16. She was 84.

Born in Hungary, Tomasz came to the United States in 1957 and earned her Ph.D. in organic chemistry at Columbia University five years later. She worked briefly at New York University’s medical school before joining the faculty at Hunter in 1966, where she stayed for the next four decades.

Tomasz helped develop curriculum at Hunter; she designed the biochemistry major in 2002 and created a new biochemistry lab course.

Tomasz’s research helped develop chemotherapeutic agents for fighting cancer, an area in which she published more than 100 papers. She is survived by her husband, J. Richard Marshall; her sister, Erzsebet; and her children, Martin and Julie.

Maria Tomasz

Erik Chaulk Erik Chaulk is a peer-review coordinator and digital publications web specialist at the ASBMB.