Scenes from 2017 annual meeting

Published July 01 2017

The 2017 ASBMB annual meeting was held in Chicago this year.

Exhibitors included graduate programs, equipment makers, service providers and more.

Attendees at all career stages presented their work.

Research projects, education programs and outreach activities were on display.

From left: Journal of Biological Chemistry Editor-in-Chief Lila Gierasch, Susan Gottesman (Herb Tabor Research Award winner), ASBMB President Natalie Ahn and Michael Gottesman.

Wei Yang won the ASBMB's Midred Cohn Award in Biological Chemistry.

Squire Booker of Penn State presented on radical strategies for biological methylation.

L. David Sibley won the Alice and C.C. Wang Award in Molecular Parasitology. Here, he is flanked by the Wangs.

Bill Wickner won the William C. Rose Award. Here, he's with PAST ASBMB President Suzanne Pfeffer and current President Natalie Ahn.

P. Boon Chock, Earl and Thressa Stadtman Distinguished Scientist Award winner Susan S. Taylor and Natalie Ahn.

Gregory D. Fairn, center with plaque, won the Walter A. Shaw Young Investigator Award in Lipid Research.

Erin Dolan, second from right, won the ASBMB Award for Exemplary Contributions to Education.

This year's ASBMB honor society inductees were named.

Attendees had dozens of talks, panel discussions, workshops and mixers from which to choose.

Travel-award winners' posters were on display during the ASBMB Minority Affairs Committee's welcome reception.

Attendees were invited to add their predictions for the future to the ASBMB timeline.

Everyone loves meeting swag.

A group of ASBMB members gather before heading over to the Science March.

The JBC unveiled a new mission and look. Learn more.

Daily photo galleries on Facebook: