Gerald Hart Hart

Hart is inaugural recipient of Englund professorship

Gerald Hart, professor and director of the department of biological chemistry at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, has been selected as the inaugural recipient of the Paul and Christine Englund professorship in biochemistry.

This professorship honors the legacy of Paul Englund, professor emeritus of biological chemistry, and his wife, Christine Schneyer Englund, longtime Hopkins endocrinologist.

Hart is being recognized for his significant contributions as a researcher and educator. Among his many research accomplishments, Hart discovered the crosstalk between O-linked β-N-acetylglucosamine and phosphorylation.

Hart founded the journal Glycobiology in 1989 and served as editor-in-chief until 2001. He currently serves as an associate editor for the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology’s Journal of Biological Chemistry and Molecular & Cellular Proteomics.

Phillip Sharp Sharp

Research!America honors Sharp

Phillip Sharp, professor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, is the 2017 recipient of the Raymond and Beverly Sackler Award for Sustained National Leadership by Research!America.

This award recognizes outstanding leaders in medical and health research who have made significant contributions toward advocacy for medical or other health-related research.

Sharp was honored for his advocacy efforts for cancer research, which he has demonstrated in his role as chairman of Stand Up to Cancer’s scientific advisory committee.

The award is part of the Research!America Advocacy Awards, established in 1996 to honor advocates for medical, health and scientific research.

Among his numerous honors, Sharp received the 1993 Nobel Prize in physiology or medicine for his role in the discovery of RNA splicing.

Catherine Leimkuhler Grimes Grimes

Leimkuhler Grimes wins Sloan Research Fellowship

Catherine Leimkuhler Grimes, assistant professor in the department of chemistry and biochemistry at the University of Delaware, won a Sloan Research Fellowship.

This fellowship is awarded annually to 126 early-career scholars in eight fields who have demonstrated the potential to make significant contributions to their areas of study. The fellowship lasts two years and grants fellows $60,000 to be used for research.

This fellowship will aid Leimkuhler Grimes in her research as she investigates how chronic inflammatory diseases arise in response to pathogenic and commensal bacterial cell wall fragments.

Leimkuhler Grimes previously was honored for her research with a Pew Scholarship in the Biomedical Sciences, the Cottrell Scholar Award and the National Science Foundation’s Faculty Early Career Development Award. She joined the University of Delaware faculty in 2011.

Carolyn Bertozzi Bertozzi

Bertozzi elected to Eli Lilly board of directors

Carolyn Bertozzi, the Anne T. and Robert M. Bass professor of chemistry and professor of chemical and systems biology and radiology at Stanford University and an investigator at the Howard Hughes Medical Institute, was elected to the Eli Lilly and Co. board of directors. In her new role at the pharmaceutical company, Bertozzi will serve on the science and technology and public policy and compliance committees.

Bertozzi’s research interests lie in both chemistry and biology, with a specific emphasis on studies of cell-surface glycosylation pertinent to disease states. In 1999, Bertozzi received an award from the MacArthur Foundation, which is known as a “genius award.” She has been elected to the National Academy of Sciences as well as the National Academy of Medicine.

Eleftherios Diamandis Diamandis

Diamandis receives award for excellence in education

Eleftherios Diamandis, professor and head of clinical biochemistry in the department of laboratory medicine and pathobiology at the University of Toronto, will receive the 2017 Award for Excellence in Education by the American Association for Clinical Chemistry.

This award recognizes an outstanding individual who has contributed significantly to enhancing the practice and profession of clinical chemistry through education. Diamandis will receive the award at the AACC’s annual conference, which will be held this summer in San Diego.

Diamandis’ research interests include the discovery and validation of cancer biomarkers, proteomics, mass spectrometry and translation research. Diamandis has garnered numerous awards throughout his career for his excellence as an educator, including the 2013 Excellence in Graduate Teaching Award and the 2014 JJ Berry Smith Award for Excellence in Doctoral Supervision from the University of Toronto.

Mitchel Theodore Abbott Abbott

In memoriam: Mitchel Theodore Abbott

Mitchel Theodore Abbott, former professor and research scientist at San Diego State University, passed away Jan. 28 due to complications related to Alzheimer’s disease and chronic lymphocytic leukemia.

Abbott joined SDSU in 1964 as one of the founding faculty members of the Molecular Biology Institute. He also served as a member of the Ph.D. programs in chemistry and in cell and molecular biology.

Abbott left a profound impact upon his community through the many relationships and collaborations he formed throughout his career. He is survived by his sister, Camille; his three children, Valerie, Mark and Bruce; and his six grandchildren.

In memoriam: Wallace Brockman

Wallace Brockman, former head of the drug-resistance section at the Southern Research Institute in Maryland, passed away in April 2016. He was 91.

During World War II, Brockman served as a meteorologist in the U.S. Army Air Corps in India and China. He subsequently attended Vanderbilt University, where he obtained his doctorate in organic chemistry.

Brockman later joined the cancer research team at Southern Research Institute and eventually became head of the drug-resistance section. His research focused on exploring why some cancer cells were resistant to chemotherapy drugs.

Brockman is survived by his wife, Jean Early Brockman; two daughters, Alison and Anne; and two granddaughters, Liza and Meredith.

In memoriam: James Hamilton

James Hamilton passed away in June. He was 93.

Hamilton volunteered to serve in World War II, aiding in the reconstruction efforts in Japan near the end of the conflict. After obtaining his doctorate from the University of Minnesota, Hamilton began his career as a professor and researcher, working at medical institutions in both Texas and Louisiana.

Hamilton’s research focused on the study of lipids. He later continued this research at the pharmaceutical company Hoffmann–La Roche.

Hamilton is survived by his wife, Carol; his three children; and his two siblings.

In memoriam: William J. Williams

William J. Williams, former dean of the College of Medicine at the State University of New York Upstate Medical University, died Nov. 4.

Born in Bridgeton, New Jersey, Williams served in the Navy during World War II, during which he was assigned to the hematology laboratory at the U.S. Navy Hospital in Philadelphia. He transferred to and later graduated from the medical school at the University of Pennsylvania.

Williams later joined the SUNY Medical University in 1969, where he stayed for 33 years, serving as the Edward C. Reifenstein professor of medicine and chairman of the department of medicine in addition to being the dean of the College of Medicine.

Williams was an expert in the field of hematology, serving as the founding editor of Williams Hematology, one of the leading English-language textbooks on hematology.

Erik Chaulk Erik Chaulk is a peer-review coordinator and digital publications web specialist at the ASBMB.