Published May 4 2016


Grossenbacher wins NCAA scholarship

Max Grossenbacher, a biochemistry major at Colorado College, has received a National Collegiate Athletic Association postgraduate scholarship for academic and athletic excellence. NCAA postgraduate scholarships are awarded to student athletes who have performed with distinction on the playing field, are good citizens, possess a grade-point average of at least 3.2 and intend to continue their education.

A senior and a midfielder on Colorado College’s Division III men’s soccer team, Grossenbacher will receive $7,500 from the NCAA. He plans to attend medical school in 2017.

NCAA awards are bestowed three times a year, corresponding to the sports seasons of fall, winter and spring. Grossenbacher is one of only 29 male and 29 female students to receive the award during soccer season.

Grossenbacher is the Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference offensive player of the year, leading the conference with 27 points and nine assists. Additionally, he was one of 34 men’s soccer players to receive Academic All-America honors from the College Sports Information Directors of America in November and only the third player in the history of his college to be named a Scholar All-American by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America.

Written by Erik Chaulk

Charpentier and Doudna share Alpert Prize


Emmanuel Charpentier at Umeå University in Sweden and Jennifer Doudna at the University of California, Berkeley, have won the 2016 Warren Alpert Foundation Prize. Charpentier and Doudna share the prize with three others. All five recipients are being recognized for their contributions to the understanding of the CRISPR system and its potential for genome editing.

Established in 1987 by philanthropist Warren Alpert and awarded in association with Harvard Medical School, the $500,000 prize recognizes scientists and physicians whose research holds great promise in the prevention, treatment or cure of a human disease or disorder.


Charpentier and Doudna won for establishing that the CRISPR bacterial immune system could be used to alter or replace targeted DNA in a broad array of organisms, including humans. They share the award with Rodolphe Barrangou at North Carolina State University, Philippe Horvath at duPont and Virginijus Siksnys at the Institute of Biotechnology of Vilnius University in Lithuania.

Charpentier and Doudna’s work on CRISPR has been lauded widely. In addition to their many individual honors, the two share the 2015 Breakthrough Prize in the Life Sciences, the Paul Janssen Award for Biomedical Research, the Gruber Prize in Genetics, the Massry Prize and the L’Oreal-UNESCO International Prize for Women in Science.

Written by Lee D. Gibbs


Cantley and Kahn win Wolf Prize

Lewis Cantley at the Sandra and Edward Meyer Cancer Center at Weill Cornell Medical College, and C. Ronald Kahn at Joslin Diabetes Center and Harvard Medical School, have won the 2016 Wolf Prize in Medicine.

Wolf Prizes, considered the Nobel Prizes of Israel, are bestowed annually by the Wolf Foundation, a nonprofit organization founded in 1976 by former Cuban ambassador to Israel Ricardo Wolf. The prizes recognize achievements in the fields of agriculture, chemistry, mathematics, medicine, physics and the arts. Cantley is being honored for his discovery of the enzyme phosphoinositide-3 kinase and its link to cancer and other diseases. Kahn is being honored for his work on insulin signaling and its contribution to the understanding of type 2 diabetes. Kahn The two winners will divide a $100,000 monetary award.

Cantley and Kahn have received many of the highest honors in their fields and both been elected to the National Academy of Sciences and the Institute of Medicine.

Written by Erik Chaulk

Garcia receives Protein Science award


Benjamin Garcia, presidential associate professor of biochemistry and biophysics at the University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine, has won the 2016 Protein Science Young Investigator Award.

The award comes from the Protein Society and recognizes scientists in the first eight years of an independent career who have contributed significantly to the study of proteins. Garcia was chosen for developing and applying novel mass spectrometry approaches to better study post-translational modifications of proteins, especially those involved in epigenetics, such as histones. His work on the development of analytical and computational tools to understand better the importance of simultaneously occurring histone modifications also was noted.

Garcia already has received the Presidential Early Career Award, the National Science Foundation Early Career Award and the National Institutes of Health Director’s New Innovator Award.

Written by Sarah Elkin