Member Update


Hudson receives Earl Sutherland Prize

Billy G. Hudson, the Elliott V. Newman professor of medicine and professor of biochemistry, pathology, microbiology and immunology, and cell and developmental biology at Vanderbilt University, won the Earl Sutherland Prize for Achievement in Research in August. Vanderbilt established the prize in 1976 and presents it annually to a faculty member who has garnered critical reception and recognition nationally and internationally for achievements in research, scholarship or creative expression. The prize comes with an engraved pewter cup and a purse of $5,000. Hudson’s research focuses on the structure and function of type IV collagen. He has discovered and characterized collagen-IV proteins in which structural alterations cause the pathophysiology of four kidney diseases. He also discovered the novel sulphur-nitrogen bond that stabilizes collagen-IV networks. Additionally, Hudson co-founded the Aspirnaut program, which helps develop and promote science, technology engineering and math education for rural and underrepresented K – 20 students through internships and the beaming of STEM labs into classrooms.


Marletta wins Alfred Bader Award

The American Chemical Society honored Michael A. Marletta with the 2015 Alfred Bader Award in Bioinorganic or Bioorganic Chemistry. The award, which comes with a $5,000 prize, is sponsored by the Alfred R. Bader Fund and recognizes a scientist’s outstanding achievements at the intersection of biology and organic or inorganic chemistry. Marletta holds the CH and Annie Li chair in the molecular biology of diseases at the University of California, Berkeley, where he is a professor in the departments of chemistry and molecular and cell biology. He long has explored nitric oxide signaling and uncovered many aspects of nitric oxide function. More recently, his lab also has undertaken investigations of polysaccharide monooxygenases.


Scholarship update

After our September article on the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology’s Distinguished Undergraduate Scholarship was published, a change in recipients was announced. Shelby Newsad declined her scholarship, and the Minority Affairs Committee is pleased to announce it has awarded Nicolas Oropeza of Arizona State University one of the five scholarships.

Oropeza is studying biological sciences at the Arizona State University School of Life Sciences, where he also volunteers as a mentor to incoming freshmen. He is a trained emergency medical technician, and in the summer he volunteers as an EMT for underprivileged communities in Sonora, Mexico. Oropeza is passionate about sharing his background and experiences with those from diverse groups and says he wants to demonstrate that “their barriers are not limitations on what they can accomplish.” He intends to graduate from ASU and then enter a joint Ph.D./M.D. program.

Erik Chaulk Erik Chaulk is a peer-review coordinator at the ASBMB.