Member Update

Raushel receives ACS Southwest Regional Award

Raushel Frank Raushel

The American Chemical Society recognized Frank Raushel’s contributions in enzymology and biological chemistry and honored him with the organization’s Southwest Regional Award in November. Raushel received the award, which included a $2,000 cash prize and a commemorative plaque, at the Dallas–Fort Worth chapter. Raushel is a distinguished professor of chemistry at Texas A&M University, where he has worked since 1980. He is also a fellow of the ACS and the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Raushel is recognized internationally for his research on the structure and function of enzymes and their mechanisms. More recently, his group is focusing on newly discovered enzymes, such as nonspecific carboxylate esterase and cyclic phosphodiesterase.

Lindquist, Walter win Vallee Visiting Professorships

LindquistSusan Lindquist

Two American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology members – Susan Lindquist of the Whitehead Institute in Cambridge, Mass., and Peter Walter of the University of California, San Francisco – received 2015 Vallee Visiting Professorships from the Vallee Foundation. WalterPeter Walter The purpose of the program is to bring outstanding scientists and premier biomedical research institutes together in an informal arrangement that promotes scientific exchanges and fosters new partnerships in biomedical research. In 2009, Lindquist received the President’s National Medal of Science, and Walter received the 2014 Lasker Award for Basic Research, popularly known as the “American Nobel.” Both scientists are Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigators and study protein synthesis, protein folding and protein quality control as they relate to human diseases.

Two members win ASPET awards

HammHeidi Hamm

The American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics will recognize two ASBMB members, Heidi Hamm and Namandje Bumpus, at the Experimental Biology meeting in Boston in March. BumpusNamandje BumpusHamm, a professor of pharmacology at the Vanderbilt University Medical Center and a former ASBMB president, will receive the 2015 Robert R. Ruffolo Career Achievement Award in Pharmacology. Hamm’s primary research focus is the structure–function relationship of GTP binding proteins and G-protein–coupled signal transduction mechanisms. Established in 2011, the award recognizes the achievements of scientists who have made significant contributions to pharmacology. Bumpus, an assistant professor at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, will receive the 2015 Division for Drug Metabolism Early Career Achievement Award. Her research focuses on adverse effects associated with non-nucleoside reverse transcriptase inhibitors in HIV.

In memoriam: Bhupendra P. Doctor

Bhupendra P. Doctor, the former director of the biochemistry division at the Walter Reed Army Institute of Research in Silver Spring, Md., died in November. He was 84. After receiving a B.S. degree from the University of Bombay (India) in 1952, Doctor came to the U.S. and earned his Ph.D. in biochemistry at the University of Maryland in 1959. He worked at the Walter Reed Army Institute between 1960 and 2007, during which time he focused on developing enzymes as bioscavengers for cholinesterase-inhibiting organophosphorus compounds, such as soman. Doctor won three Presidential Rank Service Awards and the Order of Military Medical Merit for his research.

Alok Upadhyay Alok Upadhyay is a postdoctoral associate at Fox Chase Cancer Center. His major research area is Notch signaling regulation during cell fate decisions and neural crest stem cell development. Follow him on Twitter.