Member update

The Protein Society recognizes White, Hurley and Fierke

Stephen White James Hurley Carol Fierke
White Hurley Fierke
Three members of the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology will be celebrated at The Protein Society’s annual symposium in July in San Diego. Stephen H. White of the University of California, Irvine, won the Carl Brändén Award. Sponsored by Rigaku Corp., the award is issued to “an outstanding protein scientist who has also made exceptional contributions in the areas of education and/or service to the science.” James H. Hurley of the University of California, Berkeley, won the Hans Neurath Award, which is sponsored by The Neurath Foundation. Hurley was recognized “for his ground-breaking contributions to structural membrane biology and membrane trafficking.” Carol A. Fierke of the University of Michigan won the Emil Thomas Kaiser Award. That award, sponsored by the society, recognizes “her exceptional contributions to our understanding of the metal homeostasis, and to understanding of the structure and mechanism of ribonuclease P.”

In memoriam: James E. Stowers Jr.

James StowersJames E. Stowers Jr., the co-founder of the Stowers Institute for Medical Research, died March 17 at the age of 90. He was known as one of the world’s biggest philanthropists after giving most of his fortune to the biomedical research institute. Stowers was born in 1924 and, after studying medicine for several years, chose to leave medicine to pursue a career in business. He went on to become the founder of what now is American Century Investments, and it is there that he established his wealth. After several personal health crises, including prostate cancer, Stowers, along with his wife, decided to pour their wealth into biomedical research. This led to the founding of the Stowers Institute in 1994. It opened in 2000 in his hometown of Kansas City, Mo. The Stowers Institute is the home to many biomedical researchers, including several ASBMB members, and continues to make large contributions to the field. Stowers is survived by his wife, three children and six grandchildren.

Baldwin will be FASEB’s next VP for science policy

Thomas BaldwinThomas Baldwin, a professor of biochemistry at the University of California, Riverside, has been elected the next vice president for science policy of the Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology. Baldwin’s research primarily focuses on studies of the heterodimeric flavoprotein monooxygenase bacterial luciferase. His lab has studied the mechanism of the bioluminescence reaction, as well as the folding and assembly of the enzyme, both in vitro and in vivo. He also has employed the enzyme to investigate metabolic processes as they occur in the cell by monitoring light emission. Baldwin currently serves as the chairman of the ASBMB Public Outreach Committee and is ASBMB’s representative on the FASEB board of directors. He will begin his new term as VP-elect for science policy July 1.

Baltimore appointed co-chair to National Academy of Sciences panel

David BaltimoreThe National Academy of Sciences appointed David Baltimore, president emeritus and Robert Andrews Millikan professor of biology at the California Institute of Technology, as co-chair of its Committee on Science, Technology and Law. The CSTL was established in 1998 to examine the areas where science, engineering and law intersect. CSTL is a unique body where the legal and scientific communities come together for needed discussions. Baltimore is one of the world’s most influential biologists. In 1975, he was awarded the Nobel Prize in physiology or medicine for research into viral replication that helped scientists better understand the life cycle of retroviruses. His work has contributed widely to the understanding of cancer, AIDS and the molecular basis of the human body’s immune response. Baltimore said he is looking forward to working with CSTL members to identify pertinent issues where a better understanding of the science-law interface can lead to more informed policy decisions. Baltimore will co-chair the committee with Judge David S. Tatel from the U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit.

ASBMB members elected to The American Academy of
Arts and Sciences

Ken Dill Christopher Glass Richard Gourse Donald Hunt
Sabeeha Merchant Amy Rosenzweig Richard Silverman Wilfred van der Donk
Merchant Rosenzweig Silverman van der Donk
The American Academy of Arts and Sciences announced the members of the class of 2014. The academy has served as the nation’s champion of scholarship, civil dialogue and useful knowledge since its founding in 1780. Its members contribute to publications and studies of science and technology, policy, energy and more. The members include some of the world’s most accomplished leaders from academia, business, public affairs, humanities and the arts. This class of members includes many winners of notable awards in a wide range of disciplines. The new class includes the following ASBMB members: AAAS logo The new class will be inducted at a ceremony Oct. 11 at the Academy’s headquarters in Cambridge, Mass.
Nicole ParkerNicole Parker ( joined the University of Maryland, Baltimore County, in the Meyeroff Scholarship Program in 2007. She earned a B.S. in biochemistry and molecular biology from UMBC and is currently completing her Ph.D. in biochemistry and molecular biology at the Johns Hopkins School of Public Health, where she studies the biological activity of the protein GDNF and its effect on the spermatogonial stem and progenitor cells.