ACS honors nine ASBMB members

ACS logoThe American Chemical Society bestowed a number of its annual awards on ASBMB members. Most were honored at the organization’s national meeting in Dallas in March. The Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award winners will be recognized during the organization’s meeting in the fall in San Francisco.

ACS Award for Creative Invention Marvin H. Caruthers, University of Colorado, Boulder For his invention and development of phosphoramidite chemistry as used to synthesize DNA, RNA and many other macromolecules.
ACS Award in Analytical Chemistry Jonathan V. Sweedler, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign For his research that emphasizes analytical neurochemistry, involves the development of small-volume methods to probe individual neurons, and uses these techniques to discover novel neurochemical pathways.
Alfred Bader Award in Bioinorganic or Bioorganic Chemistry Laura L. Kiessling, University of Wisconsin-Madison For her deft and imaginative use of chemical tools to probe and elucidate diverse biological processes.
Arthur C. Cope Award Stuart L. Schreiber, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Harvard University, Broad Institute of Harvard and Massachusetts Institute of Technology For small molecule-based discoveries concerning signal transduction by calcineurin and mTOR and gene regulation by histone deacetylases, and for advancing the field of chemical biology.
Arthur C. Cope Scholar Awards Richard N. Armstrong, Vanderbilt University For creative contributions in the use of physical organic chemistry and related disciplines to understand the mechanisms of enzyme-catalyzed detoxification reactions.
Arthur C. Cope Scholar Awards Hung-wen (Ben) Liu, University of Texas at Austin For being a world leader in studying nature’s strategies for making secondary metabolites, an expert on natural product enzymology, and a pioneer in glycodiversification with unusual sugars.
Priestley Medal Stephen J. Lippard, Massachusetts Institute of Technology For mentoring legions of scientists in the course of furthering the basic science of inorganic chemistry and paving the way for improvements in human health.

In addition, the ACS Division of Biological Chemistry recognized two other ASBMB members, who will present at the fall meeting:

The Repligen Award in Chemistry of Biological Processes John Lipscomb, University of Minnesota For outstanding contributions to the understanding of biological processes with particular emphasis on structure, function and mechanism.
Gordon Hammes ACS Biochemistry Lectureship Thomas L. Poulos, University of California, Irvine For outstanding contributions in scientific research at the interface of chemistry and biology, particularly in the realm of biochemistry, biological chemistry and molecular biology.