Public Affairs Advisory Committee

For more about the members of the Public Affairs Advisory Committee, click here

Voting Members

Terri Goss Kinzy, Chair
Vice President for Research and Professor of Biological Sciences
Western Michigan University
1903 W Michigan Ave
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5456 
Tel: 269.387.8294  
Email: terri.kinzy@wmich.edu

Susan J, Baserga 
Professor
Yale University 
Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry 
PO Box 208024
333 Cedar Street
New Haven, CT 06520-8024
Tel: 203.785.4618 
Email: susan.baserga@yale.edu

Jeffrey l. Brodsky
Avinoff Professor of Biological Sciences
Director, Center for Protein Conformational Diseases
Department of Biological Sciences
University of Pittsburgh 
A329 Langley Hall
Pittsburgh, PA 15260
Tel: 412.624.4831
Email: jbrodsky@pitt.edu


Anita Corbett
Professor 
Emory University 
Department of Biology
1510 Clifton Rd. NE
Atlanta, GA 30322 
Tel: 404.727.4546              
Email: acorbe2@emory.edu

Martha Cyert 
Professor 
Stanford University 
Department of Biology 
371 Serra Mall 
Stanford, CA 94305-5020 
Tel: 215.762.4446 
Email: mcyert@stanford.edu

Susan L. Forsburg 
Professor 
University of Southern California 
Molecular & Computational Biology Section 
1050 Childs Way, RRI201
Los Angeles CA 90089-2910
Tel: 213.740.5558 
Email: forsburg@usc.edu

Katherine L. Friedman 
Associate Professor
Director of Graduate Studies
Vanderbilt University 
Department of Biological Sciences
2417A Stevenson Center
Nashville, TN 37235-1634
Tel: 615.322.5143 
Email: katherine.friedman@vanderbilt.edu

Matthew S. Gentry
Professor
Director, LaFora Epilepsy Cure initiative
University of Kentucky 
Department of Molecular and Cellular Biochemistry 
BBSRB Building 
741 S. Limestone, B278 
Lexington, KY 40536-0509 
Tel: 859.323.8482 
Email: matthew.gentry@uky.edu

Kimberly Jackson 
Associate Professor and Chair of Chemistry & Biochemistry
Spelman College 
Chemistry and Biochemistry Department
350 Spelman Lane , Box 1131 
Atlanta, Georgia 30314 
Tel: 404.270.5792
Email: kjackson@spelman.edu

Himadri Pakrasi
Director of the International Center for Energy, Environment and Sustainability
University of Washington in St. Louis
Department of Energy, Environmental and Chemical Engineering
One Brookings dr. 
St. Louis, MO 63130-4899 
Tel: 314.935.6853 
Email: pakrasi@wustl.edu

Rick Page
Assistant Professor 
Miami University 
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry 
160 Hughes Laboratories 
651 E. High St. 
Oxford, OH 45056 
Tel: 513.529.2813  
Email: pagerc@miamioh.edu

Marina Ramirez-Alvarado
Professor 
Mayo Clinic
Department of Immunology 
200 First St. SW
Rochester, MN 55905
Tel: 507.284.2705 
Email: ramirezalvarado.marina@mayo.edu

Nicholas Rhind
Professor 
University of Massachusetts Medical School 
Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Pharmacy 
364 Plantation Street 
Worcester, MA 01605  
Tel: 508.856.8316 
Email: nick.rhind@umassmed.edu

Jonathan Sachs
Associate Professor 
University of Minnesota 
Department of Biomedical Engineering 
7-126 Nils Hasselmo Hall 
312 Church St SE 
Minneapolis, MN 55455 
Tel: 612.624.7158 
Email: jnsachs@umn.edu  

Michael Schaller 
Professor and Chair of Biochemistry 
University of West Virginia 
Department of Biochemistry 
Robert C. Byrd Health Sciences Center 
1 Medical Center Drive 
P.O. Box 9142 
Morgantown, WV 26506-9142 
Tel: 304.293.9514 
Email: mschaller@hsc.wvu.edu

Tricia Serio
Professor and Dean
University of Massachusetts - Amherst 
College of Natural Sciences
106 Stockbridge Hall
80 Campus Center Way
Amherst, MA 01003 
Tel: 413.545.2766
Email: tserio@umass.edu

Dorothy Shippen
Professor 
Texas A&M University 
Department of Biochemistry
Room 413A
College Station, TX 77843 
Tel: 979.862.2342 
Email: dshippen@tamu.edu

Ronald C. Wek
Professor 
Indiana University School of Medicine
Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
635 Barnhill Drive Medical Science, Room MS4067A
Indianapolis, IN 46202 
Tel: 317.274.0549 
Email: rwek@iu.edu

Ex Officio (Non-Voting) Members

Gerald Hart — ASBMB President 
Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Georgia Research Alliance
William Henry Terry, Sr. Eminent Scholar in Drug Discovery
Complex Carbohydrate Research Center
University of Georgia
Athens, GA 30602
Tel: 706.583.5550
Email: gwhart13@me.com

Toni M. Antalis – President-elect
Department of Physiology, Center of Vascular Biology 
University of Maryland School of Medicine 
Bio Park, Bldg. One - Room 220
800 W. Baltimore Street
Baltimore, MD 21201
Tel: 410.706.8222
Fax: 410.706.8121
Email: tantalis@som.umaryland.edu