Award Lectures


Saturday, April 6 


Tang Prize Award Lecture/ EB2019 Opening Lecture

Imatinib as a Paradigm of Targeted Cancer Therapies 
Brian J. Druker, Oregon Health Sciences University Knight Cancer Institute/HHMI




Sunday, April 7


Herbert Tabor Research Award Lecture   

Regulation of Plasma Membrane Homeostasis:  Dissecting TORC2 Signaling
Jeremy Thorner, University of California, Berkeley


Mildred Cohn Award in Biochemistry Lecture

The Awesome Power of Flourine NMR
Angela M. Gronenborn, University of Pittsburgh


Avanti Award in Lipids Lecture

Instructive Regulation of Phosphoinositide Signaling by Lipid Transfer Proteins

Vytas Bankaitis, Texas A&M Health Science Center


ASBMB Young Investigator Award Lecture

Mechanisms of RNA-mediated Translational Control  
Christine Dunham, Emory University School of Medicine


ASBMB Award for Exemplary Contributions to Education Lecture


How Organic Chemistry Became One of UCLA’s Most Popular Classes
Neil Garg, University of California, Los Angeles 




Monday, April 8



 FASEB Excellence in Science Award Lecture 

De novo Lipogenesis in Adipocytes Results in the Production of Structurally Novel Signaling Lipids with Beneficial Metabolic and Anti-inflammatory Effects
Barbara Kahn, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, Harvard Medical School



Ruth Kirschstein Diversity in Science Award Lecture   

Dissecting the Mechanisms of Cell Division    
Jorge Torres, University of California, Los Angeles  


Bert and Natalie Vallee Award in Biomedical Science Lecture

The Role of Metabolites in Regulating Cellular Differentiation and Gene Expression 
Craig Thompson, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center


Walter A. Shaw Young Investigator Award in Lipid Research Lecture      

Bacterial Lipid Trafficking and Outer Membrane Homeostasis
Shu Sin Chng, National University of Singapore


Alice and C. C. Wang Award in Molecular Parasitology Lecture and Symposium

The Ins and Outs of Toxoplasma Invasion and Egress  
Dominique Soldati-Favre, University of Geneva



Tuesday, April 9


ASBMB-Merck Award Lecture

Signaling through Sulfide 
Ruma Banerjee, University of Michigan Medical School


William C. Rose Award Lecture   

Breaking New Ground: The Emergence of Non-canonical Functions for Telomerase Subunits in Plants 
Dorothy Shippen, Texas A&M University


Earl and Thressa Stadtman Distinguished Scientist Award Lecture 

30 Years of Protein Tyrosine Phosphatases – Basic Research to Novel Therapeutics 
Nicholas K. Tonks, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory 


Delano Award for Computational Biosciences Lecture

Designing Novel Protein Structures and Interactions with Rosetta 
Brian Kuhlman, University of North Carolina School of Medicine