ASBMB History

VIDEO: John Abel
Lecture, 1930

ASBMB Centennial Videos

Herbert Tabor

Mildred Cohn

Arthur Kornberg

More videos 

Ruth Kirschstein Diversity in Science Award


Kirschstein ImageThe Ruth Kirschstein Diversity in Science Award was established to honor an outstanding scientist who has shown a strong commitment to the encouragement of under-represented minorities to enter the scientific enterprise and/or to the effective mentorship of those within it. The award will consist of a plaque, a cash prize of $3,000, and travel expenses to present a lecture at the annual ASBMB meeting. The recipient will be chosen by the ASBMB Minority Affairs Committee.  Nominations must be originated by society members; however, the nominee need not be an ASBMB member. 


2018 - Andrew Tsin
2017 – Douglas Robinson
2016 – Avery August
2015 – JoAnn Trejo
2014 – Freeman A. Hrabowski III and Michael Summers
2013 – Peter Blumberg
2012 – Lovell A. Jones
2011 – Arthur Gutierrez–Hartmann