Ruth Kirschstein Diversity in Science Award


Kirschstein ImageThe Ruth Kirschstein Diversity in Science Award was established to honor an outstanding scientist who has shown a strong commitment to the encouragement of under-represented minorities to enter the scientific enterprise and/or to the effective mentorship of those within it. The award will consist of a plaque, a cash prize of $3,000, and travel expenses to present a lecture at the annual ASBMB meeting. The recipient will be chosen by the ASBMB Minority Affairs Committee.  Nominations must be originated by society members; however, the nominee need not be an ASBMB member. 


2018 - Andrew Tsin
2017 – Douglas Robinson
2016 – Avery August
2015 – JoAnn Trejo
2014 – Freeman A. Hrabowski III and Michael Summers
2013 – Peter Blumberg
2012 – Lovell A. Jones
2011 – Arthur Gutierrez–Hartmann