ASBMB History

VIDEO: John Abel
Lecture, 1930

ASBMB Centennial Videos

Herbert Tabor

Mildred Cohn

Arthur Kornberg

More videos 

Walter A. Shaw Young Investigator Award in Lipid Research


The Walter A. Shaw Young Investigator Award in Lipid Research, established by the ASBMB’s Lipid Research Division, recognizes outstanding research contributions in the area of lipids by young investigators who are an assistant professor or equivalent and with no more than 10 years of experience since receiving their degree (Ph.D. and/or M.D.). Nominations must be submitted by ASBMB members, but the nominees need not be ASBMB members.  Self-nominations are acceptable. The award consists of a plaque, $2,000 and transportation and expenses to present a lecture at the ASBMB annual meeting.


2018 - John Burke
2017 – Gregory D. Fairn
2016 – Christer S. Ejsing
2015 – Britta Brügger
2014 – Mary L. Kraft
2013 – Tobias Walther
2012 – Peter Espenshade
2011 – Charles E. Chalfant
2010 – Sarah Keller