From 10 a.m. Monday, Sept. 18, through Thursday, Sept. 21, the ASBMB will be switching to a new membership database. During that time, our meeting registration and membership systems will be down. We apologize in advance for any inconveniences this may cause. Please call our membership office at 240-283-6604 if you have any questions.

Ruth Kirschstein Diversity in Science Award

Kirschstein ImageThe Ruth Kirschstein Diversity in Science Award was established to honor an outstanding scientist who has shown a strong commitment to the encouragement of under-represented minorities to enter the scientific enterprise and/or to the effective mentorship of those within it. The award will consist of a plaque, a cash prize of $3,000, and travel expenses to present a lecture at the annual ASBMB meeting. The recipient will be chosen by the Minority Affairs Committee.  Nominations must be originated by Society members; however, the nominee need not be an ASBMB member. 


2016 - Avery August (Cornell University)
2015 - JoAnn Trejo (UCSD)
2014 - Freeman Hrabowski (UMBC) and Michael Summers (UMBC)
2013 - Peter Blumberg (NCI)
2012 - Lovell A. Jones (MD Anderson )
2011 - Arthur Gutierrez-Hartmann (CU Denver)