2012 Annual Meeting Award Lecture Presentations


KornfeldHerbert Tabor/
Journal of Biological Chemistry Lectureship

Stuart Kornfeld
Washington University in St. Louis
"Oligosaccharides as Recognition Molecules- A Coming of Age"

Voets ASBMB Award for Exemplary Contributions to Education
Donald Vote and Judith Voet  

University of Pennsylvania and Swarthmore College
"Content in the Educational Era of Process"

Peter Espenshade
 Avanti Young Investigator Award in Lipid Research
Peter Espenshade 

Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
"Fungal SREBPs: Hypoxic Transcription Factors Required for Pathogenesis"

Guthrie ASBMB-Merck Award (2011)  

Christine Guthrie  

University of California, San Francisco
"The Spliceosome is a Dynamic RNP Machine"


  George Carman Avanti Award in Lipids

George M. Carman
 Rutgers University
 "Lipin/Phosphatidic Acid Phosphatase in Lipid Metabolism and Cell Physiology


Wang ASBMB-Merck Award (2012)  

Xiaodong Wang  

National Institute of Biological Sciences in Beijing
"Dissecting Cellular Necrosis Pathways"


Kim OrthASBMB Young Investigator Award
Kim Orth
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas
"Black Spot, Black Death, Black Pearl: The Tales of Bacterial Effectors" 

Honig DeLano Award for Computational Biosciences
Barry Honig
Columbia University
"Physical Principles Underlying Cadherin-Mediated Cell-Cell Recognition"


David SabatiniEarl and Thressa Stadtman Distinguished Scientist Award
David Sabatini
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
"Control of Growth by the mTOR Pathway"
Coming Soon



Peggy Farnham Herbert A. Sober Award
Peggy Farnham
University of Southern California
"Using Genomic Technologies to Investigate Transcriptional Regulation in Normal and Cancer Cells"


Jonesl Ruth Kirschstein Diversity in Science Award
Lovell Jones
University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center and the University of Houston

"Changing the Course of America Through Mentoring"

MarquesseWilliam C. Rose Award
Susan Marqusee
University of California, Berkeley

"Touring the Protein Energy Landscape: The View Depends on Where and How You Look "

wang_award_ulluAlice and C.C. Wang Award in Molecular Parasitology
Susan Marqusee
Yale University School of Medicine

"The RNA Interference Pathway from a Trypanosome Point of View"



McKnight Steven L. McKnight
UT Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas
"Metabolic Specialization of Mouse Embryonic Stem Cells"