ASBMB Members Named HHMI Professors

HHMI LogoThe Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI) announced 15 scientist-educators who have been named HHMI professors. Each will receive $1 million over five years "to create activities that integrate their research with student learning in ways that enhance students' understanding of science." Forty scientists have been named HHMI professors since the program began in 2002.

New members of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences
Academy 2013 The American Academy of Arts and Sciences announced in late April the election of 198 new members who will be inducted at a ceremony in October in Cambridge, Mass. Six ASBMB members were elected.  


New members of the National Academy of Sciences
NAS logo 

The National Academy of Sciences announced in late April the election of 84 new members and 21 foreign associates from 14 countries in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in research. Seven ASBMB members were elected.

ASBMB Member Robert Lefkowitz awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry

RLefkowitzOct. 10, 2012 -- Two American scientists, ASBMB member  Robert J. Lefkowitz and Brian K. Kobilka won the Nobel Prize in chemistry Wednesday for their work revealing protein receptors that tell cells what is going on in and around the human body. Their achievements have allowed drug makers to develop medication with fewer side effects.  More...


[First] [Previous] [Next] [Last]