Three ASBMB Members Receive National Medal of Science

Stanley PrusinerSusan LindquistStephen Benkovic






Oct. 15, 2010 -- Three American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology members were among the 10 eminent researchers named by President Obama as recipients of the National Medal of Science.

The ASBMB members are:
Stephen J. Benkovic, Evan Pugh professor and Eberly chair in chemistry at the Pennsylvania State University.

Susan L. Lindquist, Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator ,Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research member and professor of biology at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Stanley B. Prusiner, professor of neurology and director of the Institute for Neurodegenerative Diseases at the University of California San Francisco

This is the highest honor bestowed by the United States government on scientists, engineers and inventors. The recipients will receive their awards at a White House ceremony later this year.
“The extraordinary accomplishments of these scientists, engineers, and inventors are a testament to American industry and ingenuity,” President Obama said in a press release.  “Their achievements have redrawn the frontiers of human knowledge while enhancing American prosperity, and it is my tremendous pleasure to honor them for their important contributions.”
The National Medal of Science was created by statute in 1959 and is administered for the White House by the National Science Foundation.  Awarded annually, the medal recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to science and engineering. Nominees are selected by a committee of presidential appointees based on their extraordinary knowledge in, and contributions to, the biological, behavioral/social and physical sciences, as well as chemistry, engineering, computing and mathematics.