Grant Writing Workshop for Early Career Faculty

June 8, 2013 -- The ASBMB is hosting a grant writing workshop for new and early career biochemistry and molecular biology faculty, June 27 – 29 in Washington, D.C.  This workshop specifically targets new tenure-track faculty who have not previously received NSF or NIH funding.

Key features of the workshop will be: 

  1. Talks by NSF and NIH program officers about funding opportunities and strategies for successful proposal submission
  2. Presentations by participants on their ideas and approaches for federal funding, which will be followed by critical feedback from a panel of expert reviewers and others
  3. A mock review panel to provide insight into the review process
  4. Case-study driven discussions related to beginning a career in academia, ethical standards of conduct, and strategies for long-term success
  5. Ample opportunities for networking with other participants/attendees and faculty mentors

This workshop is sponsored in part by the NSF and organized by the ASBMB Minority Affairs Committee. 

Workshop mentors are: 

  • Vahe Bandarian (University of Arizona)
  • Ruma Banerjee (University of Michigan at Ann Arbor)
  • Squire J. Booker (Penn State University)
  • Wilfredo Colón (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute)
  • Reuben Peters (Iowa State University)
  • Marion Sewer (UC, San Diego)\
  • James Stivers (Johns Hopkins School of Medicine)
  • Takita Felder Sumter (Winthrop University)
  • David Wilson (SACNAS)
  • Sarah Woodson (Johns Hopkins University)

To be considered for this workshop, visit for nomination details.  Nominees are responsible for securing departmental funding for the cost of airfare and lodging.  The nomination letter should confirm the department’s wiliness to cover these costs.