2011 ASBMB STEM Seed Grant Recipients Named

Chem Lab

Jul. 18, 2011--The ASBMB is pleased to announce the ten recipients of the 2011 ASBMB Science Technology Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) Seed Grant. Each award is worth $2,000 and is to be used to support the development of a K-12 STEM outreach program and/or partnership.

The 2011 awardees are:

  1. Sandra Adams, Montlcair State University, Montclair, New Jersey, Integrating Molecular Biology Research Techniques into the High School Science Classroom. 
  2. Janet Bisogno, Celebration High School, Kissimmee, Florida, Teach Tech: Increasing the Use of Biotechnology in High School Science Classrooms. 
  3. Maria Brown, Sayville High School, West Sayville, New York, Molecular Ecology of the Atlantic Horshoe Crab (L. polyphemus) as a mechanism to enhance inquiry-based STEM education at Sayville Middle and High Schools. 
  4. Alvaro Estevez, University of Central Florida, Orlando, Florida, The Biochemistry of Bacteria. 
  5. Whitney Hagins, Lexington High School, Lexington, Massachusetts, Wolbachia and Students: Discover the Scientist Within. 
  6. Patricia Halpin, UNH Manchester, Manchester, New Hampshire, Getting fourth-graders excited about the cardiovascular system.  
  7. John David Holtzclaw, Transduction Technologies, Omaha, Nebraska, Inquiry-Based Learning of K-12 Physiology & Nutrition Concepts using Pedometers. 
  8. David Nordstrom, Foster Technology Center, Farmington, Maine, Bacteriophage Discovery and Molecular Characterization in a High School Biotechnology Program. 
  9. DorothyBelle Poli, Roanoke College, Salem, Virginia, Bryological Respiration & Photosynthetic Comparisons: A Case to Connect Virginia High School Students to Active Research. 
  10. Mary Williams, The Altamont School, Birmingham, Alabama, Exciting Students about Neuroscience (ESN): The Altamont School-University of Alabama at Birmingham Outreach Partnership.