The Fortress of Knowledge

Each year, the ASBMB recognizes outstanding scientists in the fields of biochemistry and molecular biology during the ASBMB Annual Meeting.  Award winners are invited to give talks during the meeting. 

All 2012 ASBMB award winning scientists are asked to share research paper(s) that will serve as background material to their talks.  Students can read these papers in advance to help them better understand the award lectures. 

Papers are posted as we receive them and may be accessed via using the following URL:   


The 2012 ASBMB award winners are: 

Stuart Kornfeld, Professor at Washington University in St. Louis
Herbert Tabor/Journal of Biological Chemistry Lectureship
Saturday, April 21, 6:00 PM
Oligosaccharides as Recognition Molecules- A Coming of Age

Judith Voet, Professor Emeritus, Swarthmore College
Donald Voet, Associate Professor at the University of Pennsylvania
ASBMB Award for Exemplary Contributions to Education
Sunday, April 22, 12:30 PM
Biochemistry Content in the Educational Era of Process

Christine Guthrie, Professor at the University of California, San Francisco
ASBMB-Merck Award (2011)
Sunday, April 22, 2:55 PM
The Spliceosome is a Dynamic RNP Machine

Xiaodong Wang, a Howard Hughes Medical Institute alumni investigator and researcher at the National Institute of Biological Sciences in Beijing
ASBMB-Merck Award (2012) 
Monday, April 23, 9:05 AM
Dissecting Cellular Necrosis Pathways

Kim Orth, Professor at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas
ASBMB Young Investigator Award
Tuesday, April 24, 2:55 PM
Black Spot, Black Death, Black Pearl: The Tales of Bacterial Effectors 

George M. Carman, Professor and Director of the Center for Lipid Research at Rutgers University
Avanti Award in Lipids
Sunday, April 22, 8:30 AM
Lipin/Phosphatidic Acid Phosphatase in Lipid Metabolism and Cell Physiology

Peter Espenshade, Associate Professor at Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Avanti Young Investigator Award in Lipid Research
Monday, April 23, 9:55 AM
Fungal SREBPs: Hypoxic Transcription Factors Required for Pathogenesis

Barry Honig, Professor at Columbia University Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator
DeLano Award for Computational Biosciences
Tuesday, April 24, 8:30 AM
Physical Principles Underlying Cadherin-Mediated Cell-Cell Recognition

David Sabatini, Associate Professor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator
Earl and Thressa Stadtman Scholar Award 
Monday, April 23, 8:30 AM
Control of Growth by the mTOR Pathway

Peggy Farnham, Professor at the University of Southern California
Herbert A. Sober Award
Wednesday, April 25, 9:00 AM
Using Genomic Technologies to Investigate Transcriptional Regulation in Normal and Cancer Cells

Lovell Jones, Professor at both the University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center and the University of Houston as well as Director of the Dorothy I. Height Center for Health Equity & Evaluation Research
Ruth Kirschstein Diversity in Science Award
Monday, April 23, 2:55 PM
Changing the Course of America Through Mentoring

Susan Marqusee, Professor at the University of California, Berkeley and Director of Berkeley's California Institute for Quantitative Biosciences (QB3-Berkeley)
William C. Rose Award
Tuesday, April 24, 9:05 AM
Touring the Protein Energy Landscape: The View Depends on Where and How You Look

Steven L. McKnight, Professor at UT Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas
ASBMB Plenary Lecture
Sunday, April 22, 9:05 AM
Metabolic Specialization of Mouse Embryonic Stem Cells