Phillip Sharp claims the 2010 Herbert Tabor lectureship

SharpPhillip A. Sharp, a world leader of research in molecular biology and biochemistry and an institute professor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, has been named winner of the Herbert Tabor/Journal of Biological Chemistry Lectureship.

Much of Sharp's work has been conducted at MIT's Center for Cancer Research, which is now known as the Koch Institute and which he joined in 1974 and directed from 1985 to 1991.  He subsequently led the department of biology from 1991 to 1999 before assuming the directorship of the McGovern Institute from 2000 to 2004.  His research interests have centered on the molecular biology of gene expression relevant to cancer and the mechanisms of RNA splicing.  His landmark achievement was the discovery of RNA splicing in 1977, for which he shared the 1993 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine.

Sharp, who has authored more than 350 scientific papers, has received numerous awards and honorary degrees and has served on advisory boards for the government, academic institutions, scientific societies and companies.  His other awards include the Gairdner Foundation International Award, the General Motors Research Foundation Alfred P. Sloan Jr. Prize for Cancer Research, the Albert Lasker Basic Medical Research Award, the National Medal of Science and the inaugural Double Helix Medal from CSHL. 

Sharp co-founder of Biogen, which is now known as Biogen Idec, and Alnylam Pharmaceuticals, is a member of the National Academy of Sciences, the Institute of Medicine, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the American Philosophical Society. 

The lectureship was established by ASBMB to recognize the many contributions of Dr. Herbert Tabor to the Journal of Biological Chemistry and the society.


ASBMB | 9650 Rockville Pike | Bethesda | MD 20814 | (301) 634-7145