John Tesmer wins the ASBMB Young Investigator Award

TesmerJohn Tesmer, a research associate professor at the Life Sciences Institute and the department of pharmacology at the University of Michigan, has been named the winner of the ASBMB Young Investigator Award this year. 

“John has been a terrific success,” wrote his nominator, professor Alan R. Saltiel of the University of Michigan. “He has developed a major reputation as a leading structural biologist, evidenced by his frequent invitations to speak at important meetings and publish review articles in leading journals, and an outstanding record of publications.” 

Stephen R. Sprang, professor and director of the Center for Biomolecular Structure and Dynamics at the University of Montana, said Tesmer was “among the most productive and creative postdoctoral fellows with whom I have had the honor to work.” 

“Since he began his independent career as a junior faculty member at UT-Austin, and now as an associate professor at the University of Michigan, John has become a recognized leader in the structural biology of G protein signaling,” Sprang noted. “Indeed, I would say with confidence that he is currently the most productive structural biologist working in this area.” 

Calling Tesmer’s work full of novelty and deep insights, professor Heidi E. Hamm of Vanderbilt University Medical Center added, “He is also modest, a nice person and full of passion.” 

The ASBMB Young Investigator Award recognizes outstanding research contributions to biochemistry and molecular biology by those who have no more than 15 years postdoctoral experience. The award consists of a plaque, $5,000 and transportation and expenses to the 2010 ASBMB Annual Meeting, where the winner will present a lecture. In addition, up to $1,000 is awarded for travel to attend a meeting of the recipient's choice. 



ASBMB | 9650 Rockville Pike | Bethesda | MD 20814 | (301) 634-7145