ASBMB 2010 Award Lectures

Herbert Tabor/Journal of Biological Chemistry Lectureship

SharpASBMB 2010 Opening Lecture
Saturday, April 24, 6:00 PM

Phillip A. Sharp, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
The Biology of small RNAs

Phillip A. Sharp, a world leader of research in molecular biology and biochemistry and an institute professor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, has been named winner of the Herbert Tabor/Journal of Biological Chemistry Lectureship.

Much of Sharp's work has been conducted at MIT's Center for Cancer Research, which is now known as the Koch Institute and which he joined in 1974 and directed from 1985 to 1991.  He subsequently led the department of biology from 1991 to 1999 before assuming the directorship of the McGovern Institute from 2000 to 2004.  His research interests have centered on the molecular biology of gene expression relevant to cancer and the mechanisms of RNA splicing.  His landmark achievement was the discovery of RNA splicing in 1977, for which he shared the 1993 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine.

Read More

 Avanti Young Investigator Award in Lipid Research

KellerMonday, April 26, 11:45 AM
This lecture will be presented during the symposium, "Novel Approaches for Studying Lipid Signaling, Metabolism, and Membranes," 9:55 AM - 12:15 PM.

Sarah L. Keller, University of Washington
Amazing feats of membrane lipids: Cases in which proteins are welcome, but not necessary

Sarah  Keller, an associate professor at the University of Washington whose research focuses on how changes in membrane lipid composition lead to alterations in physical parameters that potentially modify the activity of membrane proteins, has been named the winner of the 2010 Avanti Young Investigator Award in Lipid Research.

Read More

Avanti Award in Lipids

RusselSunday, April 25, 2:15 PM

David W. Russell, UT Southwestern Medical Center
Oxysterols: Cholesterol Metabolites of Diverse Function in Mice and Men

“(Russell) has employed imaginative genetic analysis to knock out the individual genes involved and determine the precise role of each enzyme in cholesterol degradation. He has placed a special emphasis on the regulatory aspects and in the process has identified the precise enzymes responsible for several genetically linked diseases.

Read More 

ASBMB Merck-Award

Wells Monday, April 26, 2:15 PM

James A. Wells, University of California at San Francisco
Probing and controlling cellular remodeling enzymes

James Wells, professor and chairman of the department pharmaceutical chemistry at the University of California, San Francisco, and a member of the ASBMB Council, has been named the winner of the 2010 ASBMB-Merck Award for his pioneering studies in the field of protein engineering. 

Read More 

ASBMB Young Investigator Award

TesmerMonday, April 26, 8:30 AM

John J. G. Tesmer, University of Michigan
Structural Analysis of Heterotrimeric G Proteins and G Protein-Coupled Receptor Kinases

John Tesmer, a research associate professor at the Life Sciences Institute and the department of pharmacology at the University of Michigan, has been named the winner of the ASBMB Young Investigator Award this year.

Read More 

ASBMB Award for Exemplary Contributions to Education

GentileSunday, April 25, 12:30 PM

Lisa N. Gentile, University of Richmond
Strategies to Engage the Next Generation of Scientists

Colleagues and students don’t hold back when asked to evaluate Gentile. They gush about her enthusiasm and about how she always delivers. They say she “rolls up her sleeves, gets out the chalk and goes to work.”  They call her a “dynamo.”

Read More

FASEB Excellence in Science Award


Tuesday, April 27, 2:15 PM

Susan S. Taylor, HHMI/University of California San Diego
Dynamics of PKA Signaling

The Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology has named Susan S. Taylor, professor of chemistry and biochemistry and professor of pharmacology at the University of California in San Diego, as the recipient of the FASEB 2010 Excellence in Science Award. The award recognizes women whose outstanding career achievements in biological science have contributed significantly to further our understanding of a particular discipline by excellence in research.

Read More 

 Fritz Lipmann Lectureship (2009 Recipient)

ReeseWednesday, April 28, 8:30 AM

Douglas C. Rees, California Institute of Technology
Structural and Mechanistic Diversity of ABC Transporters

Douglas Rees, a Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator and Professor of Chemistry at the California Institute of Technology, will give the Fritz Lipmann Lectureship. This lectureship, which is awarded every 2 years, recognizes investigators who make conceptual advances in biochemistry, bioenergetics, and molecular biology. Rees has made pivotal contributions to understanding the structure of integral membrane proteins, membrane transport mechanisms, and metalloenzyme structure and mechanism.  

Read More

Herbert A. Sober Lectureship

Abersold Sunday, April 25, 8:30 AM

Ruedi Aebersold, University of Zurich and ETH-Zurich
Mapping and measuring molecular networks in cells

Ruedi Aebersold, a pioneer in the field of proteomics who holds a joint appointment as professor of molecular systems biology at ETH-Zürich and the University of Zürich, has been named the recipient of the Herbert A. Sober Lectureship.  His nominators point to his development of a series of methods that have found wide application in analytical protein chemistry and proteomics, like a new class of reagents used in quantitative mass spectrometry termed “isotope-coded affinity tag,” or ICAT, reagents.

Read More 

William C. Rose Award

Dan HTuesday, April 27, 8:30 AM

Daniel Herschlag, Stanford University School of Medicine
How enzymes work

Daniel Herschlag, professor of biochemistry, chemistry and chemical engineering at Stanford University, has won this year’s William C. Rose Award in recognition of his outstanding contributions to biochemical and molecular biological research and a demonstrated commitment to the training of younger scientists.

Read More

ASBMB | 9650 Rockville Pike | Bethesda | MD 20814 | (301) 634-7145