Member Login

2014 UAN Outstanding Chapter Award goes to Otterbein University

AWARDApril 9, 2014 -- This year’s Outstanding Chapter Award goes to Otterbein University in recognition of its leadership in education activities in the areas of biochemistry and molecular biology, their efforts in science outreach, participation and organization of campus activities, and their sustained chapter activity. 

Dr. John Tansey serves as chapter advisor to over thirty members of Otterbein’s UAN chapter. Otterbein’s chapter hosts weekly BMB Teas, giving students the opportunity to gather and brainstorm future UAN activities and to discuss current topics in science.  The group is currently developing a Women in Science group open to science majors on campus to encourage a stronger community among young female scientists. In addition, Otterbein’s UAN chapter is involved with various outreach activities to their larger community. They have brought science experiments to local elementary schools and fundraised to bring awareness to several causes, including collaborating with the Pancreatic Cancer Action Network. 

Otterbein UAN members have participated in the ASBMB Annual Meeting for the past four years. Two of their members, Bobby Geiger and Nana Agyepong, were inducted into the ASBMB Honor Society this year. Otterbein University won the Outstanding Chapter Award in 2012. 

An award ceremony will be held to recognize the Otterbein University UAN and its members during the Education Award Lecture on Sunday, April 27, at 12:30PM during the ASBMB Annual Meeting in San Diego.