Member Login

Announcing the 2014 Ruth Kirschstein Diversity in Science Awardees

Kirschstein ImageJuly 18, 2013 - We are pleased to announce that the 2014 Diversity in Science Award recipients are Freeman Hrabowski (UMBC) and Michael Summers (UMBC). The Ruth Kirschstein Diversity in Science Award was established to honor an outstanding scientist who has shown a strong commitment to the encouragement of under-represented minorities to enter the scientific enterprise and/or to the effective mentorship of those within it. The award will consist of a plaque, a cash prize of $3,000, and travel expenses to present a lecture at the annual ASBMB meeting. The recipient will be chosen by the Minority Affairs Committee.  Nominations must be originated by Society members however, the nominee need not be an ASBMB member.  

Diversity in Science Award Recipients:
2014 - Freeman Hrabowski (UMBC) and Michael Summers (UMBC)
2013 - Peter Blumberg (NCI)
2012 - Lovell A. Jones (MD Anderson)
2011 - Arthur Gutierrez-Hartmann (CU Denver)